Tarzan Boy

This song made me feel good because of the times. It is 2019 and but it may as well be 1986. In some areas, it feels like we’ve not advanced one bit in 1/3 of a century.

This song has special meaning to me because I was 14 when it made it big and it was a confusing time for me. Looking back, it means more today than then, but oh, the seed it planted.

Jungle life
I’m far away from nowhere
On my own like Tarzan boy

Hide and seek
I play along while rushing ‘cross the forest
Monkey business on a sunny afternoon

In the concrete jungle, I felt like my feelings were uncommon and deviant to the point of wanting to be alone. Instead, I played hide and seek with them while wondering the streets seeking happiness.

Jungle life
I’m living in the open
Native beat that carries on

Burning bright
A fire blows the signal to the sky
I sit and wonder, does the message get to you?

In the concrete jungle, I was trying to be like everyone else while still following my own beat. Often times, I would walk and talk with God hoping he heard me.

Jungle life
You’re far away from nothing
It’s all right
You won’t miss home

Take a chance
Leave everything behind you
Come and join me, won’t be sorry
It’s easy to survive

In the concrete jungle, I left home the moment I could. I left everything behind. I found someone that loved me and I was not sorry. Looking back, it has been tough, but I wouldn’t change a thing.

Jungle life
We’re living in the open
All alone like Tarzans, boy

Hide and seek
We play along while rushing ‘cross the forest
Monkey business on a sunny afternoon

In the concrete jungle, with the ones we love, we can be out in the open, courageous like Tarzan boy. While the world thinks we are hiding, we were seeking. We play along still having fun.

Night to night
Gimme the other, gimme the other
Chance tonight
Gimme the other, gimme the other
Night to night
Gimme the other, gimme the other world

As life went, I was looking for love from night to night, seeking the other. Then love found me and the night to night took on a different meaning. Still, I’m looking for that other world, a better one, an understanding one, a loving one.

Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh

Jimmy McShane was shunned by his family when they found out he was gay. For those of us that struggled to be accepted in a time when it was not cool, some of us failed in liking ourselves. It has taken a great amount of effort and time and introspection, but hopefully, we will change the world for the better. Lord knows I am trying.

Jimmy died of AIDS and I am glad he made an impact in my life.

*** Written by Maurizio Bassi & Naimy Hackett Performed by Baltimora

Leave a comment